Inspiration

Inspiration

It is something sought by artists of various sorts. Be it a painter, a musician, song writer, or aspiring writer we all need the same thing. That thing being… Inspiration. This spark, much like the art itself, comes in a number of forms. As a writer it probably should come as no surprise that words themselves would motivate or even move me.

inspire

There Is Power In Words

Well penned as well as truly well versed words can do so much. They can paint pictures. They can take us new places. They can even invoke thought or emotion. What’s more, they can inspire! To be inspired is a wonderful thing. Speaking of inspiration, here are some truly powerful words that have, in some way, touched me.

“There is some good in this world, and it’s worth fighting for.”

– J. R. R. Tolkien – 

Samwise Gamgee’s proclamation is one that has shown and reminded me of something very important. As I go about my day to day life, like any one else, I have my rough days. There are mornings I have stretched, yawned, then with a groan wondered…what purpose and point would it serve to get up today? Nothing is going my way, so why even bother? This hobbit has shown me time and time again that the things we love and believe in the most should be the very things we live for.

“The truth.” Dumbledore sighed. “It is a beautiful and terrible thing, and should therefore be treated with great caution.”

-J. K. Rowling – 

Dumbledore, beloved professor and headmaster of Hogwarts school of Witchcraft and Wizardry teaches yet another valuable lesson. The truth is something that is so complex in an ever changing world, when in truth, it probably should be one of the most simply practiced things. It can ease minds, and just as quickly, it can break hearts.

“I don’t have to prove my worth and value to any but those I love, and that I do by being who I am, with confidence that those I love appreciate the good and accept the bad. Does anything else really matter?”

-R. A. Salvatore –

The most profound lesson of self worth came from a character I regarded as a villain or antagonist. Yet, the Orc King within R.A. Salvatore’s Legend of Drizz’t series raised  a valid point. Our individual worth is something that truly comes from being nothing less than ourselves and accepted just as we are. Nothing else.

If I could do, for someone, what these three authors (along with so many others) have done for me, then that…would truly be something.

Leave a Reply

